PRC Workforce
Due diligence · PRC Workforce

Twelve questions.
Answered directly.

The questions that come up before every procurement decision, answered here so the call covers what matters rather than what is already on this page.

Question twelve is the one to read first. Every figure on this page is a sector average. Question twelve is how you replace them with your own numbers before you decide anything.

If none of these apply, the 30-minute call with Jon is the right next step.

90-day protocol · validation pilot terms
Zero cost

100% funded during the validation phase. No purchase order required.

Zero IT overhead

Requires one all-staff email announcement. No single sign-on and no IT tickets.

Co-validation advantage

Secures grandfathered commercial pricing in exchange for 90-day aggregate cohort data.

Zero risk

No names collected, no individual tracking, and no change to your current EAP or Occupational Health contracts.

01

"We already have an EAP. Why do we need this as well?"

Your EAP reaches the people willing to self-refer into a clinical pathway. EAPA UK reports average utilisation moving from around 4% to more than 10%. Your own provider reports your figure, and yours is the one that matters. Whatever it is, everybody else is the gap PRC is built for. Specifically the senior professionals and mid-tier leaders who have calculated what a clinical record costs them and decided against it. The two populations barely overlap.

If you do not know your own figure, that is what a Workforce Reach Audit produces, before any decision about PRC is on the table. It is £3,450 plus VAT for one site of up to 500 staff. See question twelve.

Procuring PRC requires no change to your existing EAP or Occupational Health contract. It runs alongside both. PRC addresses the gap your EAP was never designed to reach. Not because the EAP is inadequate, but because the format makes it structurally inaccessible to that population.

EAP uptake: EAPA UK, Securing the Future of the EAP, 2024 · HRMJ, Long et al. (2024): employees resist EAPs perceived as management-aligned · EAP awareness: HCML Corporate Health and Wellbeing Report, 2024 (79% of employers provide an EAP; 27% of employees know one exists)
EAP average utilisation
4% to 10%+
The range EAPA UK reports. Your provider reports yours. A Reach Audit gives you the figure your staff report.
EAP awareness gap
27%
Of UK employees knew their EAP existed, despite 79% of employers offering one.
The gap the EAP leaves
9 in 10
By design, not by failure. It only reaches people willing to put their hand up. That gap is what PRC is built for.
Contract change needed
None
PRC sits alongside existing EAP and OH provision. No renegotiation required.
02

"How do we know it works if we cannot see individual data?"

The PRC Index is self-rated across seven operational measures at Days 1, 30, 60, and 90. The employer receives aggregate cohort movement, the average shift across all participants on each measure. That is the correct unit of measurement for a site-wide performance protocol: did the cohort move, and by how much.

Individual data is structurally absent. Not withheld by policy, not recorded. This is the same reason PRC reaches the people it reaches. The aggregate is the reporting. It is sufficient for commercial review, board reporting, and any internal audit of provision effectiveness.

What the data cannot tell you is which individual moved. It can tell you, for example, that 24 seats completed the protocol and the average PRC Index moved by 2.4 points across seven measures. Those figures are illustrative; no cohort has yet completed the protocol. For a performance protocol purchased at per-employee level, that is the right number to look at.

Employer reporting includes
Seats · Completion · Index movement
Aggregate cohort data. Quarterly. Sufficient for ROI review.
Employer reporting excludes
Names · Scores · Pattern content
Nothing individual is recorded at any point. Not withheld. Absent.

The illustrative dashboard on the main site shows what aggregate reporting looks like in practice: seat occupancy, completion rates, and PRC Index movement across all seven measures at Days 1, 30, 60, and 90. No individual identifiers at any point.

03

"What if someone needs more than this? What is the clinical off-ramp?"

PRC is not a clinical service and does not position itself as one. If a clinical concern surfaces during the protocol, the participant is directed explicitly to their GP or NHS 111. Their seat is held. No fee is applied. No restart penalty. The protocol resumes when they are ready.

If a participant self-rates below an operational safety threshold, the automated system appends standard UK clinical and helpline signposting (NHS 111 / Samaritans) directly to their next email. The system does not notify HR, does not break anonymity, and creates no clinical record.

The disclosures are written in plain language and appear in every email the participant receives. PRC does not diagnose, treat, or refer. It does not create a clinical record. Participation has no bearing on any clinical pathway the participant is currently using or may use in future. The two are structurally separate.

Your existing EAP and Occupational Health provision handles clinical and case-managed need exactly as it does now. If a participant needs that route, they are directed there. PRC is not a substitute. It is the layer for the people who will not engage with either route.

Full scope of practice statement: prcworkforce.com/disclosures.html
Clinical concern surfaces
→ GP or NHS 111
Directed explicitly. Not managed by PRC. Seat held, no fee, no penalty.
Clinical record created
None
Nothing inside the protocol has to be declared to an insurer, employer, or third party.
EAP and OH disrupted
No
Both continue unchanged. PRC is the additional layer for the population neither route reaches.
HR case management required
None
The protocol runs direct to the participant. HR is not in the loop at any stage.
04

"How do we roll this out without it feeling like a wellbeing initiative?"

This is the framing question and it is the right one. PRC is not sent by HR as a support offer. It is a general all-staff communication, from the HR Director, in the same register as any operational announcement. Every employee at the organisation receives identical communication. No individual is singled out.

The subject lines are performance-framed: "Most of a working day runs on autopilot", "Available to everyone here, private to you", "Ninety days, in your inbox, off the record." The all-staff email template, the participant recognition page, and the enrolment page are all written in that register. No clinical language. No wellness framing.

The message is: this is available. What you do with it is private. We cannot see who takes it up. Jon briefs the HR Director on this positioning before deployment and is available for any internal communications review. The framing is not optional. It is what makes the product reach the population it is built for.

Sent by
HR Director
General all-staff notice. Same communication to every employee.
Framed as
Performance protocol
Not support. Not wellbeing. Not a referral. An operational tool available to all.
Link tracking
Off
The all-staff email goes with tracking disabled. No one knows who clicked.
Read receipts
Off
No mechanism by which opening the email can be attributed to an individual.
05

"What will the per-employee cost be, and how does it compare with our EAP?"

This answer is about the 90-day protocol. It is £9,750 plus VAT for the year, and the audit fee comes off it in full. Three places are currently funded, so for those three there is nothing to pay at that stage. The Workforce Reach Audit is a separate, paid product at £3,450 plus VAT. It is one annual licence, site-wide, with no seat cap. £9,750 plus VAT for one site of up to 500 employees, and above 500 priced on headcount, from £9,750.

When you do compare it, cost per employee is the wrong unit, and for many employers there is no cost to compare. The EAP came bundled with income protection, life cover or health insurance and has no separate price. The comparison that holds either way is reach. At the 3% to 5% take-up employers report from their own scheme, 95 to 97 in every 100 employees are not reached by it. PRC is delivered to those people, so the right comparison is how many people each one actually gets to, not headline cost per employee.

The second comparison is against the cost of the problem, and that does not wait for pricing. One £70k senior at 70% capacity for six months is around £10,500 in lost output. That figure is running today, whether or not anything is bought.

You do not have to take the sector figure on trust either. A Workforce Reach Audit measures reach on your own workforce rather than a sector average: how many of your people your current provision actually reached. You never tell us what you pay. If you pay for your EAP separately, you can put that price against the reach number yourself, in your own office. See question twelve.

Employer-reported EAP take-up: 3% to 5%, HCML Corporate Health and Wellbeing Report, 2024 · Lost output: PRC illustrative calculation on IPPR, 2024 lost-output basis · Replacement cost: Oxford Economics and Unum, 2014 (£30,614 to replace an employee earning over £25,000 a year; varies by sector)
Staff the EAP does not reach
95 to 97%
At the 3% to 5% take-up employers report from their own scheme (HCML, 2024). A Reach Audit gives you yours.
PRC price status
Published
£9,750 plus VAT a year, one licence, audit fee credited in full. Three places still funded.
Who PRC reaches
Everyone
Site-wide. No seat cap. Everyone can enrol. No rationing decisions.
One senior restored
£10,500
Output recovered from one £70k senior. The cost of the problem, running today.
06

"We need to think about it."

That is the right response to most procurement decisions. This one is worth thinking about quickly because the cost of the status quo accrues daily and the downside of trying PRC is small and fixed.

What thinking about it usually protects against is internal risk, taking something to a board or budget holder that does not land. The risk profile here is smaller than it looks. The three funded places exist precisely for this situation: a defined entry point, one full 90-day run, and no protocol fee. The only cost is the Workforce Reach Audit at £3,450 plus VAT, which comes first and sets the order places are given out. After the three funded places, the protocol is £9,750 plus VAT a year, with the audit fee credited in full.

The thinking that needs to happen can happen in a 30-minute call with Jon. If PRC is not the right fit, you will be told on that call.

If you proceed
Funded place
One full 90-day run, no protocol fee. The Reach Audit at £3,450 plus VAT comes first. After the three funded places, £9,750 plus VAT a year, audit fee credited in full. No IT integration. No existing contract changes.
If it does not land internally
Nothing on file.
No clinical record. No system change. No rolling contract to unwind.
If you do not proceed
Pattern continues.
44 productive days lost per employee per year to working while sick. SSP from day one of any absence.
Cost of a 4-week decision window
~£1,600
Lost output from one £70k affected senior during the thinking period alone.
07

"It's too expensive."

The protocol is £9,750 plus VAT a year and the Reach Audit fee comes off it in full. Three pilot places are still funded, so for those three there is no protocol fee at all. Set either figure against the cost of doing nothing. Compared to that, doing nothing is not a neutral position. The pattern does not plateau. It compounds.

Every quarter it runs unchecked, the gap between what that person is capable of and what they are currently producing widens. The people around them absorb the drag. The decisions they are not making, the conversations they are not having, the work sitting in their queue. That cost is already on your books. It is just not on a line item you can see yet.

The cost of not acting is not zero. It is the daily rate of the pattern running, multiplied by every person in your workforce carrying one. That cost is already being paid. PRC puts it on a line item and addresses it.

"I was paying for it long before I knew it had a price. The difference is I could not see the invoice."

IPPR, 2024: UK workforce sickness cost employers £103bn in 2023, up from £73bn in 2018, of which £25bn of the rise is lost output from working while sick · 44 productive days lost per employee per year to working while sick · Employment Rights Act 2025: SSP from day one of absence, effective April 2026
Timeline
Cost of pattern running
Cost of PRC
Today
£0 visible
Lost output is real. Not yet on a budget line.
Funded
One of three funded places. Site-wide, up to 500 staff.
3 months
~£5,250
One £70k senior at 70% capacity.
£0 more
Protocol running. Day 30 review complete.
6 months
~£10,500+
Pattern deepening. SSP exposure live.
£0 more
Protocol complete. Replacement installed.
12 months
£30,614 risk
Replacement cost if they leave, on top of 12 months lost output. Oxford Economics and Unum, 2014, for an employee earning over £25,000 a year; higher for a senior professional.
£9,750 + VAT
Site-wide annual licence, one site of up to 500 staff. Audit fee credited in full.
Lost output: PRC illustrative calculation on IPPR, 2024 basis · Replacement cost: Oxford Economics and Unum, 2014 · SSP: Employment Rights Act 2025, effective April 2026
08

"I need board or CEO approval before I can move forward."

That is a process question, not an objection to PRC. The materials to make that case internally already exist. Jon can prepare a board-ready briefing note, one page and commercial framing only, for any organisation where the sign-off sits above the HR Director.

The board argument is not a soft argument. It is a liability argument. Since April 2026, SSP applies from day one of any absence. A senior professional carrying an unaddressed pattern is a compounding payroll liability, not a line item in a benefits budget. That is a finance conversation, not an HR conversation, and it lands differently in a boardroom.

The funded place also removes the approval barrier at source. With the audit fee credited in full against the protocol, and a funded 90-day cohort for a site of up to 500 staff still available, the first commitment is £3,450 rather than £9,750. The board case is made on the results, not on the proposal.

Employment Rights Act 2025: SSP from day one of absence, effective April 2026 · DWP estimate: £400m additional annual SSP cost to UK employers from April 2026 (~£15 per employee), per the Employment Rights Act 2025 Economic Analysis, January 2026 (para 44d); the earlier 2024 assessment figure of £450m is still widely cited
Board briefing note
Available on request
One page. Commercial and liability framing. Jon prepares it for the specific organisation.
Pilot approval barrier
Funded
£9,750 plus VAT a year, less the audit fee already paid. Audit first, board case second.
SSP liability from
April 2026
Day one of any absence. Every unaddressed pattern is now a direct payroll exposure.
New annual SSP cost, UK employers
£400m
DWP estimate. The board already has this number in front of them.
09

"What are our GDPR obligations? Who holds the data?"

PRC Workforce holds participant data as data controller. The organisation is not in the data chain for individual participant records at any point. The employer receives aggregate cohort reporting only. No personal data about any individual is transferred to the organisation at any stage.

Participants enrol using a personal email on a personal device. A seat number is assigned. The email is held only to deliver the protocol and is never shared with the employer; it is deleted on request at any time, and on a defined retention schedule set out in the data processing agreement. No name is recorded at any point, and to the employer each participant is a seat number and nothing more.

The organisation does not process personal health data through PRC, which is the usual trigger for a Data Protection Impact Assessment. Employers should confirm the position with their own DPO. PRC is not a health monitoring tool. It is a structured email protocol. The data it processes is completion and self-report index data, held by PRC Workforce under UK GDPR.

Full technical and legal disclosures: prcworkforce.com/disclosures.html · UK GDPR: data held and processed by PRC Workforce as controller
Data controller
PRC Workforce
Not the employer. The organisation is not in the individual data chain.
What the employer receives
Aggregate only
Seat numbers, completion rates, cohort-level index movement. No personal data transferred.
Personal data in system
Personal email + seat ID
Email held only to deliver the protocol and never shared with the employer. Deleted on request at any time. No name at any point.
DPIA, employer
Confirm with your DPO
PRC does not put personal health data through your systems, which is the usual DPIA trigger. No health monitoring function.
10

"What if nobody uses it? We have had low uptake on everything else."

Low uptake on existing provision is almost always a format problem, not a demand problem. The people who most need support are not using what you already have because every route requires them to identify themselves. That is not apathy. That is a calculated decision about career risk, insurance implications, and how they are perceived.

PRC removes the identification requirement from the first step. No self-referral. No name on anything. The all-staff communication goes to everyone simultaneously, which means enrolling carries no signal to anyone. There is no list to be on. There is no pattern to identify from a click.

The funded place is the answer to this concern before it becomes a concern. Run it across the whole site, with no cap on numbers. The uptake data from a real cohort gives you the answer, and gives you the board case if the numbers land. A protocol that reaches the people your EAP does not will produce different uptake numbers than a platform nobody opens.

Why existing provision has low uptake
Format, not demand
Self-referral requirement. Identification risk. Clinical framing. None of these apply to PRC.
PRC removes
All three barriers
No self-referral. No name. No clinical record. Enrolment is private by architecture.
Signal from enrolling
None
All-staff communication. Everyone receives it. Enrolling is indistinguishable from not enrolling.
Cost of finding out, pilot
Funded
Pilot currently funded. The downside of finding out is quantified and small.
11

"We already have too many programmes. Our people have platform fatigue."

Platform fatigue is real and it is a legitimate concern. It is also a different problem to the one PRC addresses. Platform fatigue happens when content-on-demand platforms accumulate without producing outcomes. An app nobody opens, a content library that gets browsed once, a portal that HR logs into and employees do not. These add to the noise. PRC adds nothing to that noise.

PRC is not a platform. It is an email sequence. There is nothing to log into, nothing to download, no library to browse. It arrives in the participant's inbox on a fixed schedule and asks for a specific response. The format is the same one the participant already uses for everything else they actually do. There is no new behaviour required to access it. That is precisely why it reaches the people everything else does not.

Adding PRC does not add to your programme stack. It adds one email sequence per enrolled participant, delivered to a personal device, with no HR system involvement and no interface for anyone to manage or maintain.

What PRC adds to your stack
An email sequence
No platform. No portal. No app. No new login. No IT integration.
HR management required
None
After deployment setup, the protocol runs automatically. No ongoing HR involvement.
New behaviour required from participants
None
Reads like email. Responds like email. No platform to learn. No habit to build around accessing it.
Programmes it replaces
None
PRC sits alongside existing provision. It does not require anything else to be removed.
12

"How do we know any of this applies to our workforce?"

Cost to you
£3,450 + VAT
One site, up to 500 staff. No obligation to do anything afterwards. If fewer than thirty people reply, no figures are issued and there is no administration charge. You receive a Response Deficit Report instead, and the re-run inside twelve months is at the repeat price.
Your time
Two steps · 5 min each
You decide who gets asked. You send one email, which we write for you.
What your staff type
Nothing
Every answer is a score or a single choice. No names, no email addresses, no comment box.
Reporting floor
30
Under 30 responses, no figures are produced at all. There is no breakdown by department, site or team, in any configuration. Three whole-organisation cuts are reported and nothing else: how long people have been with you, whether they manage anybody, and how they work, meaning on site, hybrid, remote, or shift and field based. Each side of each cut has to reach thirty replies on its own or it is folded back into the total and not reported. Those three exist because that is where the gap usually sits, and because staff who are not at a desk are routinely missed by the channels provision is advertised through. Beyond those three, nothing is collected that could form a group. No name, no email address, no staff number, no job title and no department.
The four prices, in full

£3,450 plus VAT · one organisation, one site, up to 500 staff
£5,450 plus VAT · up to five sites or five parts of the business, any size
£1,750 plus VAT · repeat audit at twelve months, for the comparison
£4,650 plus VAT · both audits committed together, single site

A Reach Audit can only be compared with a later Reach Audit, which is why the repeat is priced now rather than left until you ask.

How the reporting floor works

Under 30 responses there is no report, not even an overall total, because below that the averages are not stable enough to make a decision on. There is no breakdown by department, site or team, in any configuration. Three whole-organisation cuts are reported and nothing else: how long people have been with you, whether they manage anybody, and how they work, meaning on site, hybrid, remote, or shift and field based. Each side of each cut has to reach thirty replies on its own or it is folded back into the total and not reported. Those three exist because that is where the gap usually sits, and because staff who are not at a desk are routinely missed by the channels provision is advertised through. Beyond those three, nothing is collected that could form a group. No name, no email address, no staff number, no job title and no department. That is not a suppression rule applied after the answers arrive. It is a limit on what the audit asks for in the first place. The floor is enforced by the script that builds the report, which refuses to run rather than leave the decision to anyone’s judgement.

Thirty is the floor, not the target. At 30 responses the reach figure carries a margin of error of up to about 18 points either side; at 100 it drops under 10. The report prints the margin beside the figure every time and states in plain words when a number is directional only.

Funded protocol places go in the order Reach Audits finish, not the order enquiries arrive. A Reach Audit takes about three weeks. That is the queue.

You do not, and you should not take it on trust. Every figure on this page is a sector average, including the ones that favour us. The Workforce Reach Audit replaces them with your own numbers before you decide anything.

Twenty four questions, most of them scored out of ten, answered anonymously by your own staff. About five minutes to answer, with nothing to type anywhere in it. Three weeks from start to finish. You end up with a written document showing how many of your people took part, how they scored, how many say the support you already provide reached them, the reason each of the rest gives for not using it, and how likely they say they would be to use it if something started affecting their work.

You never have to tell us what you pay. The report carries the reach figure and the maths beside it. You put your own spend against it. Nothing about your contract leaves your building.

It is £3,450 plus VAT for one site of up to 500 staff, and the report is yours to keep and circulate internally whatever you decide. If fewer than thirty people reply, no figures are issued and there is no administration charge. You receive a Response Deficit Report instead, and the re-run inside twelve months is at the repeat price. Two of the four steps are yours and neither takes more than five minutes. Thirty replies is the reporting floor, not the target, so the instruction is to invite at least two hundred people. No staff survey anywhere returns everybody, and the number invited has to carry the shortfall. Three reminders go out on dates you agree before it opens.

Even if you read it and decide PRC is not for you, you finish with something your organisation did not have before: a straight answer on how much of your workforce your current spend actually reaches, and a starting line to measure any future decision against.

The maths, in full
Step 1 · your reach figure
people who answered yes ÷ people who answered × 100 = reach %
The report gives you both numbers, and the margin of error beside them. Reach is calculated on the people who answered, not on your full headcount, and the report says so on the page.
Step 2 · your cost per person reached, if you pay for the EAP separately
( annual spend per employee ÷ reach % ) × 100 = cost per person reached
Same figure from a total: ( total annual spend ÷ headcount ÷ reach % ) × 100

Worked example, illustrative figures only. A 400-person organisation paying £15 per employee a year for its EAP, so £6,000 in total. 200 people are invited, 75 answer, and 9 of them say the support reached them.

Reach: 9 ÷ 75 × 100 = 12%. Cost per person reached: ( £15 ÷ 12 ) × 100 = £125.

Same answer the long way round: 400 × 12% = 48 people reached. £6,000 ÷ 48 = £125. Not reached: 400 − 48 = 352 people. If your EAP came bundled with an insurance policy and has no separate price, skip step 2. The 352 is the figure that matters.

A 75 reply return from 200 invited is 37.5%, which is the middle of what published UK staff surveys achieve. The report prints both numbers so you can see the return rather than take it on trust.

We do not ask what you pay and do not need to know. The spend line arrives blank and you fill it in.

The short version

If the call confirms fit, procurement requires no change to any existing contract. Three protocol pilot places are still funded, so for those three there is no protocol fee. The downside of finding out whether it works is smaller than the weekly cost of one pattern running unchecked.

And you do not have to start with the protocol at all. Start with a Workforce Reach Audit. It is £3,450 plus VAT for one site of up to 500 staff, takes three weeks, and gives you your own numbers instead of the sector averages on this page. Whatever you decide afterwards, the report is yours to keep.

Two ways in. A call, or your own numbers first.
Speak to Jon, 30 minutes → The Workforce Reach Audit →

The call is thirty minutes, with Jon directly. Not a form, not a sales team, not a junior. If it does not fit, you will be told so on the call.

Would rather have a number than a conversation? A Workforce Reach Audit is £3,450 plus VAT for one site of up to 500 staff and takes three weeks. If fewer than thirty people reply, no figures are issued and there is no administration charge. You receive a Response Deficit Report instead, and the re-run inside twelve months is at the repeat price. The report is yours to keep whatever you decide next.

Download 1-Page Board Briefing (PDF) →
Direct contact
Email: jon@prcworkforce.com Phone: +44 7493 087262 Web: www.prcworkforce.com